
1 
 

 

ANDREW M. CUOMO 
Governor 

MICHAEL C. GREEN 
Executive Deputy Commissioner 

ROBERT M. MACCARONE 
Deputy Commissioner and Director 

 

STATE DIRECTOR’S MEMOR ANDU M # 2 0 19 -2 

TO: All Probation Directors and Commissioners 
 

FROM: Robert M. Maccarone, Deputy Commissioner and     RMM 
 Director, Office of Probation and Correctional Alternatives                                   

RE: Raise the Age—Probation Regulations  

 Title 9 NYCRR--Parts 348, 350, 351, 352, 356, and 359 

DATE: March 28, 2019 

 

The NYS Division of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS) is pleased to announce, effective March 27, 

2019, the adoption of new and amended probation regulations for the implementation of the Raise the Age 

Law in New York State.  Title 9 NYCRR Part 348, “Case Record Management”, Part 350 “Investigations and 

Reports, Part 351 “Probation Supervision”, Part 352 “Graduated Responses”, Part 356 “Probation Services 

for Article 3 Juvenile Delinquency”, and Part 359 “Role of Probation in Youth Part of the Superior Court”  

are attached for your reference.  These documents will also be posted to the OPCA General Rules and 

Regulations page of the DCJS public website.   

On April 10, 2017, New York State enacted Part WWW of Chapter 59 of the Laws of 2017, referred 

to as the Raise the Age (RTA) Law.  Effective October 1, 2018 for 16-year old youth, and October 1, 2019 

for 17-year old youth, the Law provides an important opportunity for probation practitioners to address the 

needs of justice system involved youth and reduce future re-offending and recidivism.   

DCJS-OPCA began the process of evaluating and revising existing rules in September of 2017, 

when it convened the initial meeting of the Probation Rule Revision Workgroup in Albany.  Workgroup 

members included representatives from DCJS’ OPCA, Office of Justice Research and Performance 

(OJRP), and Office of Legal Services (OLS).  The workgroup included probation professionals from 

throughout New York State representing small, medium, and large size jurisdictions, as well as rural, urban 

and suburban localities.  The NYS Council of Probation Administrators (NYSCOPA) and NYS Probation 

Officers’ Association (NYSPOA) were also represented on the Workgroup.  I want to again acknowledge the 

members of the Workgroup for their expertise, diligence and commitment to advancing probation practice 

and ensuring the effective implementation of Raise the Age in New York State.  

Recognizing the importance of collaboration and transparency, the proposed draft revisions were 

informally shared with probation directors/commissioners for review on multiple occasions in early 2018. 

Throughout the process, feedback from these groups was incorporated into the version that was ultimately 

published in the August 8, 2018 edition of the New York State Register.  A 60-day period of public comment 

followed during which DCJS received several messages of support, as well as other comments. D C J S  

carefully reviewed all comments and made several changes to the regulations.  For additional information, 

please see the Assessment of Public Comment included in Notice of Adoption.  

 

http://www.criminaljustice.ny.gov/opca/regs.htm
http://www.criminaljustice.ny.gov/opca/regs.htm
http://www.criminaljustice.ny.gov/opca/regs.htm
https://docs.dos.ny.gov/info/register/2019/mar27/rulemaking.pdf
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Probation Regulations Parts 348, 350, and 351 include sections on Client Engagement, as well as 

references to probation’s role in the newly established Youth Part of Superior Court, pre-depositional 

supervision, updated language reflecting the evolution of state agency names and forms, and other 

statutory changes impacting probation practice.  Part 352 is retitled to reflect the opportunity probation 

officers have to affect behavior change with probationers through the use of incentives and graduated 

responses with flexibility retained for probation departments to develop and refine their own policies and 

grids for response to non-compliant behavior.  Importantly, Part 352 preserves uniformity in responding to 

probation absconders, new offense violations, and warrant protocols.   

Part 356 is expanded to define and provide guidance for pre-dispositional services when provided 

by Probation departments.  Juvenile Delinquency adjustment service and the timeframes for the 

development of the initial case plan were modified and contacts were aligned with Part 351--the Probation 

Supervision Rule and evidence-based practices.  Additionally, this rule adds the requirement for mental 

health screening when a youth consents to JD adjustment services.  DCJS will soon be implementing 

state-wide access to the Massachusetts Youth Screening Instrument (MAYSI-2) through Caseload Explorer 

(CE) Assessments. The requirement for probation departments to conduct this screening will become 

effective with the implementation of the CE Assessment Program Module.  Additionally, counties 

participating in the eConnect project with Columbia University (Albany, Cayuga, Clinton, Livingston, 

Montgomery, Niagara, Oswego, Saratoga, St. Lawrence, and Tioga) will be allowed to use the GAIN-SS 

screening instrument as will counties that are already using GAIN-SS or the MAYSI-2.    

Part 359 was developed to provide guidance on the new role that Probation performs in the Youth 

Part of the Superior Court through the offer of Voluntary Assessment and Case Planning. This rule also 

addresses probation’s role in providing pre-disposition services in the Youth Part.     

During the coming weeks, OPCA will be sending out an announcement regarding a webinar series 

for probation professionals which will provide an overview of the new and amended Probation Regulations.    

I encourage every probation department to participate.   

Should you have any questions in the meantime, please contact Teresa Scanu-Hansen, Community 

Correction Representative 3, at (518) 485-5166 or via email at Teresa.ScanuHansen@dcjs.ny.gov. 
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